Surfer Blood- Floating Vibes

I really like the opening guitar licks of Surfer Blood‘s Floating Vibes. There is something familiar, yet un-contrived about the way the heavily strummed first chords set the tone of the song and then are soon accompanied by a lightly plucked melody.  I think the same thing can be for the lead singer’s voice.  There is something comforatbly familiar about the tone and timbre of his his voice, and the way he delivers his verse.  Plenty have folks have already made the obvious comparisons to Weezer and the like, but I can’t think of the last time I liked a Weezer song as much as what these boys have been churning out as of late. The video is definitely a throw back to the indie rock clips of yore, but I’m not too mad at them for it.

Bookmark and Share

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

