Song To Bobby

Photobucket

Song To Bobby is a song Cat Power sings about Bob Dylan. If truth be told- I liked Cat Power before I liked Bob Dylan. I’m not a Dylanologist- that’s what Dylan experts call themselves. I used to clump Dylan in with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones- totally over rated bands from the 60’s- an era I can’t identify with.  An era which in my opinion produced the worst music. The Beatles were the first boy band- end of story.  A friend told me about Dylan a while ago and I was pretty much like “F that guy!” Until I listened to Blood on the Tracks, maybe my all time favorite album.  So- why is Dylan still relevant? Perhaps because his new album entitled Together Through Life  is the album of 2009 hands down.  Dylan has made a career of side stepping the spotlight, quietly staying prolific on the folk-rock scene.  Bob has been producing about an album every 2 years since 1964- save his decade long sabbatical following his motorcycle crash at the peak of his popularity. On his new album, Dylan digs deep- recalling his confessional prose, and like Blood on the Tracks, produced the album in only a few takes.  I could break it down song by song- telling you that his sweet blend of Tex-Mex and country stylings helps make him a player on the alt-county scene; or you can just buy the record and listen for yourself to what the 60’s should have sounded like. 

 

Bob Dylan is on tour this summer-

Bookmark and Share

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*